6 Ways to Improve Self-Awareness and Become the Best Version of Yourself
Spread the love

The 5 Stages of Grief: How to Deal with Negative Emotions.

In psychology, the five stages of grief are commonly used to describe the process of grieving following the death of someone close to you.

While these stages have been debated as being too limited in scope, they do provide an excellent framework with which to understand your emotions and how to cope with them effectively, be it the loss of a loved one or any other negative emotion, event or situation.

The five stages of grief include:

1) Denial and isolation;

2) Anger;

3) Bargaining;

4) Depression; and

5) Acceptance. Let’s take a closer look at each stage.

Types of Negative Emotions

There are five stages of grief that people experience when they are faced with a significant loss: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Each stage is characterized by different emotions, and it is important to understand and accept these emotions in order to move on.

Stage 1 – Denial

It’s hard to accept that something bad has happened, especially if it’s something you were hoping for or working towards.

In this stage, it’s common to try and pretend that everything is okay, or that the negative event didn’t happen at all. This can be a way of coping with the pain, but it’s important to eventually face reality.

Stage 2 – Anger

It’s normal to feel angry after experiencing a loss. You might be angry with yourself, with the situation, or with the person who caused the pain.

It’s important to find healthy ways to express your anger, such as talking to a friend or therapist, writing in a journal, or exercising.

Bottling up your anger can lead to problems down the road, such as depression or anxiety.

Stage 3 – Bargaining

When faced with a difficult situation, it’s common to try and bargain your way out of it. You might tell yourself that if you just work a little harder, things will get better.

Or, you might try to make a deal with God, promising to be a better person if only He would help you through this tough time.

Stage 4 – Depression

When you’re in the thick of depression, it can feel like you’re never going to get out. You might start to believe that your life is never going to get better and that you’re just going to be stuck feeling this way forever.

But it’s important to remember that this is just a phase and it will eventually pass. Just keep hanging in there and things will eventually start looking up again.

Stage 5 – Acceptance

It is important to remember that the grieving process is not linear. You may find yourself feeling all of the emotions in no particular order, or you may find yourself cycling through them. That’s okay.

The most important thing is that you allow yourself to feel whatever it is you’re feeling, and that you be patient with yourself. Acceptance doesn’t mean that you’re happy about what happened, or that you’re okay with it.


1. What are the five stages of grief?

1) Denial and isolation;

2) Anger;

3) Bargaining;

4) Depression; and

5) Acceptance.

2. What order do the stages of grief come in?

1.Denial: It’s common to believe that something isn’t happening when you first learn of a loss.
2. Anger: The anguish of your loss becomes apparent as reality sinks in.
3. Negotiating: During this phase, you reflect on what you might have done differently to avoid the loss.

3. Is it normal to feel like I’m never going to feel better?

1.Never compete or compare yourself to others. The expression “good enough” suggests that there is a criterion you must meet.
2. Recall your prior successes.
3. Speak to a Close Friend. Concentrate on the Process Rather Than the Results.

4. How can I cope with my emotions during this difficult time?

1.Examine the effect of your emotions.
2. Instead of suppression, strive for regulation.
3. Find out what you’re feeling.
4. Accept each and every one of your feelings.
5. Maintain a mood journal.

5. What resources are available to help me deal with my grief?

Share your assistance with a particular activity, such as making funeral arrangements, or simply offer to hang out with you or be a shoulder to weep on.

Recommended readings: Dealing with spotty or slow mobile data or have no connection 

Read also: How to Deal With Negative Emotions – Verywell Mind

Image credit: Healthline

Tags : The 5 Stages of Grief: How to Deal with Negative Emotions

The author Slyzombe

Leave a Response